Wow…I’m wordy tonight!

Standard

So, this has nothing to do with my previous post, but I’m interested in your input!  The other day, I was shopping at my local big box store when I came across a couple dressed appropriately for ohhhh, 1880 or so.  Amused, I took an anonymous picture of these two and posted it on my Facebook page.  What I didn’t expect was to be called a bully and mean and several other choice words by other FB members.  I was amused that was all.

So, my question is, as it came up by several people who don’t necessarily fit the social norm as far as how they dress etc…If you choose to look so far out of the societal norm, is it wrong for other people to be taken aback, to stop and stare or whatnot.  My belief is that if you decide to wear dessert plates in your ears or have rainbow colored hair or devil horns implanted in your forehead, you are asking for attention.  Good bad or otherwise, and if you choose to express yourself like that, then don’t be offended when people stop and stare.

I, for one, am a little quirky.  I have piercings, a tattoo, had pink hair last summer and regularly go to the grocery store in my TKD uniform, where I’m sure people question my fashion choices and I’m okay with that!  You can even take my picture and I’ll 360 back kick your cousin Bubba (after he has signed a waiver) for your YouTube video if you really want because it’s not often you run into a 40 something librarian with multiple piercings, tattoo and interesting hair wearing a taekwondo uniform at the Price Chopper!

Leave a Reply

