I Run on SueTime…..

Standard

Sleeping in this morning was a wonderful thing, but it got me to thinking about how I run on a totally different time than most everyone else! Coworkers and friends will say how they slept in until 7 or 8 am and they just can’t sleep any longer and I must look at them with some bizarre and confused look as I’m happily and deeeeeeply asleep at 7 or 8 am if I don’t have to be at work!

I’m nocturnal….I always have been. I remember living on Lakeshore Drive and my room was on the third floor of our house. It was a fantastic room with windows on two sides looking out over Lake Decatur. I remember being very little like 3 or 4 and the whole house would be quiet and asleep and I’d be wide awake, watching the teenagers next door trying to sneak in without waking up their parents, watching the traffic on the William Street bridge, just simply watching the moonlight flicker over the waves on the water. It was peaceful and I could just sit there for hours while the rest of the family was soundly sleeping. Such began my foray into the night….

I have read all the books about good sleep and good sleep hygiene. I know one’s body needs a certain amount of sleep to repair and refresh itself. It’s just that my normal sleep cycle is way different than most everyone else. My perfect time to sleep is somewhere between 2 am and 10 am. I’m forced by the constraints of my job and well quite frankly my children to conform to a different more conventional schedule, but my body doesn’t like it! In a perfect world, I would work from 12 until 7 or 8, but the school system doesn’t really care about what’s best for me! My family, who all have the amazing ability to go to bed at 9 or 10 at night and be asleep within seconds, don’t understand my need for solitude and time for reflection at night. My best thinking happens after 9 at night. I’m most creative after 9 at night, but that gives me few precious hours to think, to create, to ponder, before I have to force myself to go to bed and get up for work the next day! I’ve tried dialing back when I go to bed and I’ve set a schedule to get up in the morning and still…it is what it is….I’m a night owl and it’s okay with me! Now if only I could get my children to stop poking me in the shoulder on the few days I get to run on SueTime and remind me that “Mom, it’s 8:30….mom, it’s 9….mom, it’s 10:15” I’ll get up when I’m ready!

Leave a Reply

