Karate Mom

Standard

Last spring a local Tae Kwan Do gym came to one of the schools that I work at and for 3 days the kids jumped and kicked and punched and blocked.  An unexpected side effect of supervising (and participating) the kids for 6 classes a day was that I secretly wanted to take Tae Kwan Do also!  So, in an effort to live vicariously through my kids, I signed them up for the 8 week summer program and at the end of the 8 weeks they begged to continue and I secretly smiled to myself!

I enrolled the kids for 6 months of classes and to my delight, if you have two students enrolled then the rest of the family can attend at no extra charge!  Of course I signed James and myself up and proudly carried out sparkling white uniforms and belts to the car!

This leads us all to lesson number one!  I am the first to admit that I need to get in shape.  I need to lose 40 lbs and get my cholesterol down, but since I was able to jog 3-4 miles on the treadmill at the gym and lift pretty heavy weights, I felt like class wouldn’t be too bad .  Until, our instructor ( an Olympic silver medalist) said “okay for warm ups, I want you to do 10 push ups, 10 sit ups, 10 jumping  jacks and 10 squats…do that 10 times”.  My mind boggled, my head spun, my jaw hit the floor.  Was she aware that that was 100 push ups, 100 sit ups, 100 jumping  jacks and 100 squats?  Surely I must have heard incorrectly,  until the rest of the class got to work and were now on the floor yelling 1 ma’am, 2 ma’am, 3 ma’am and so on through the whole rotation and the THEY STARTED ALL OVER!!!!!

I don’t remember the rest of the class, just that it was a sweaty, hot and painful blur!  However, I lived, I went back and maybe I’ll one day tell the story about the jumping round kick that has given me a fairly painful limp!  I’m not giving up though….just slather on some Ben Gay and I’m going to keep on kicking and punching my way to a higher belt level!

Leave a Reply

